This is the "Welcome" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Main English resource guide for the English Department.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.flagler.edu/english Print Guide

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Call Numbers: Language and Literature

P -- Philology; Linguistics

PA -- Greek Language and Literature; Latin Language and Literature

PB -- Modern Languages; Celtic Languages

PC -- Romanic Languages

PD -- Germanic Languages; Scandinavian Languages

PE -- English Language

PF -- West Germanic Languages

PG -- Slavic Languages; Baltic Languages; Albanian Languages

PH -- Uralic Languages; Basque Languages

PJ -- Oriental Languages and Literatures

PK -- Indo-Oriental Languages and Literatures

PL -- Languages and Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceana

PM -- Hyperborean, Indian, Artificial Languages

PN -- Literature (General)

PR -- English Literature

PS -- American Literature

PT -- German, Dutch, Flemish (since 1830), Afrikaans, Scandinavian, Old Norse, Icelandic, Norwegian, Faroese, Danish, and Swedish Literatures

PZ -- Fiction and Juvenile Belles Lettres

Databases

The first five databases are the primary English databases at the Proctor Library; the remainder are recommended. Find a reference librarian if you need help.

  • Essay & General Literature Index
    Offers access to citations for articles since 1985 in the humanities and social sciences. This database is not full text.
  • JSTOR
    Our only database dedicated solely to scholarly literature with articles in the fields of history, politicial science, archaeology, art history, anthropology, literature and languages, music, and more; however, JSTOR usually is not able to provide access to the most current articles.
  • Literature Online (LION)
    The best database we have for literary criticism.
  • Literature Resource Center
    A wide variety of reference book entries on over 120,000 authors, with selections of articles about them or specific works of literature. User-Friendly!
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Remarkably comprehensive database with over 1.5 million U.S. and international citations from 4,400+ journals or books. Full-text is not as comprehensive; so requests with our ILL department will be necessary when using this database.
  • African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
  • American National Oxford Biography Online
    The online version of the reference books in the series American National Biography, this database is continually updated and contains over 17,400 biographies. The database includes biographies, illustrations, cross-references, and links to external web sites.
  • Books Review Digest
    Rather than consult the physical Books Review Digest books for post-1983 publications, you can look up the title of a book here and get citations to reviews of the book. For titles published pre-1983 you can find BRD shelved in the reference collection under REF Z1219 .C96.
  • Critical Survey of Short Fiction
    Profiles of major short-story writers throughout history and the world.
  • Gale Biography in Context
    This should be the first place you look when trying to find a biography on a person (U.S. or international).
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Collection
    Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences from articles published between 1907-1984.
  • Marquis Biographies Online
    Features comprehensive profiles on over 1,444,914 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Includes 50,000 biographies of people affiliated with Great Britain from pre-history to 2006. This database is licensed for only 1 user at a time.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
    This database for articles in/on science fiction, fantasy, horror, the supernatural, and weird fiction.
 

Subject Headings

These are examples of subject terms you can use in the library's catalog. Subjects are a better way to search than keywords because they describe what something is about. Remember, most English books will be located in the P sections of the library.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Katherine Owens
Contact Info
Proctor Library
44 Sevilla Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084

(904) 819-6485 (office)
(904) 819-6331 (reference desk)
kowens@flagler.edu
Send Email

Books and More Books

One-Stop Shop...Almost

  • Discovery
    Allows you to search MOST of the Proctor Library's databases simaltaneouosly!
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip