This is the "Welcome" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Main History resource guide for the History program.
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.flagler.edu/history Print Guide ShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Call Numbers: History

C -- Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)

CB -- History of Civilization

CC -- Archaeology

CD -- Diplomatics; Archives; Seals

CE -- Technical Chronology; Calender

CJ -- Numismatics

CN -- Inscriptions; Epigraphy

CR -- Heraldry

CS -- Genealogy

CT -- Biography

D -- History (General)

DA -- Great Britian

DAW -- Central Europe

DB -- Austria; Liechtenstein; Hungry; Czechoslovakia

DC -- France; Andorra; Monaco

DD -- Germany

DE -- Greco-Roman World

DF -- Greece

DG -- Italy; Malta

DH -- Low Countries; Benelux Countries

DJ -- Netherlands (Holland)

DJK -- Eastern Europe (General)

DK -- Russia; Soviet Union; Former Soviet Republics; Poland

DL -- Northern Europe; Scandinavia

DP -- Spain; Portugal

DQ -- Switzerland

DR -- Balkan Peninsula

DS -- Asia

DT -- Africa

DU -- Oceania (South Seas)

DX -- Romanies

E11-E143 -- America

E151-E909 -- United States

F1-975 -- United States Local History

F1001-F1145.2 -- British America (Including Canada)

F1170 -- French America

F1201-F3799 -- Latin America; Spanish America

Databases

The first three databases are the primary History databases at the Proctor Library; the remainder are recommended. Find a reference librarian if you need help.

  • JSTOR
    Our only database dedicated solely to scholarly literature with articles in the fields of history, politicial science, archaeology, art history, anthropology, literature and languages, music, and more; however, JSTOR usually is not able to provide access to the most current articles.
  • Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
    This database is a conglomerate of six seperate databases: North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; and Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries. . . .
  • History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
    Primary source collection that includes government, organizational, and personal files covering the history of African-Americans in the United States between 1910 to the early 1980’s.
  • African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Contrary to what you may think, this database does not provide access to articles or papers. It does however tell you which universities, archives, museums own what manuscript collections.
  • Biography Reference Bank
    Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
  • Books Review Digest
    Rather than consult the physical Books Review Digest books for post-1983 publications, you can look up the title of a book here and get citations to reviews of the book. For titles published pre-1983 you can find BRD shelved in the reference collection under REF Z1219 .C96.
  • Britannica Online
    Contains the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & the Britannica Book of the Year.
  • The Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, November 25, 1908 to December 31, 1991
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. No full text.
  • Gale Biography in Context
    This should be the first place you look when trying to find a biography on a person (U.S. or international).
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Collection
    Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences from articles published between 1907-1984.
  • Issues & Controversies in American History
    Delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.
  • Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1881 to 1987
  • Marquis Biographies Online
    Features comprehensive profiles on over 1,444,914 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
  • The New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1851 to 2007
  • OAlster
    Please click on the Worldcat link to access this database. Access to more than 19 million digital records in history from e-books to audio and movie files. Most information is available to Flagler faculty and students, but you may need to create a second username and password to access some information.
  • ProQuest Newsstand
    Contains The New York Times from 1999 to the present and 500 national and international newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present and 13 Florida newspapers.
  • The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1889 to 1993
  • The Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1877 to 1994
  • WorldCat
    A powerful database that includes the book collections of over 70,000 libraries in the world. Most useful as pre-research to doing an Inter-Library Loan request.
 

Reference Books (Selected)

Here is a selection of some books in the reference collection (circulating collection, online reference databases) that provide general information.

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation --   REF E184 .A1 A634 1997
American National Biography Online --   a Proctor Library Database
Chronology of World History: Prehistory - AD1491: The Ancient and Medieval World --   REF D11 .C476 2001
Dictionary of American History --   REF E174 .D533 2003
Dictionary of Indian Tribes of the Americas --   REF E54.5 .D5 1980
Dictionary of the Middle Ages --   REF D114 .D5
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia --   REF DS4 .E536 2002
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa --   REF DS43 .E536 2004
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance --   REF CB361 .E52 1999
Encyclopedia of Russian History --   REF DK14 .E53 2004
The Encyclopedia of Southern History --   REF F207.7 .E52 1979,   F207.7 .E52 1979
Footnotes to American History: A Bibliographic Source Book --   REF E179 .S48 1977
Footnotes to World History: A Bibliographic Source Book --   REF D20 .S52 1979
Great Events from History: American Series --   REF E178 .M22 1975
Great Events from History: Ancient and Medieval Series --   REF D59 .M26 1972
Great Events from History: Modern European Series --   REF D209 .M29 1973
Great Events from History: Worldwide Twentieth Century Series --   REF D421 .G63
A Guide to the History of Florida --   REF F311 .G85 1989,   F311 .G85 1989
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas --   REF CB9 .N49 2005
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography --   a Proctor Library database
The Presidents: A Reference History --   REF E176.1 .P737 2002,   E176.1 .P737 2002
Reference Library of Black America --   REF E185 .R44 1998,   E185 .R44 1995

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Katherine Owens
Contact Info
Proctor Library
44 Sevilla Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084

(904) 819-6485 (office)
(904) 819-6331 (reference desk)
kowens@flagler.edu
Send Email

Books and More Books

One-Stop Shop...Almost

  • Discovery
    Allows you to search MOST of the Proctor Library's databases simaltaneouosly!
 

Special Guidelines for History Students

If you are a student taking a 300 or 400 level history class you will want a copy of this document. These are changes to the rules in the Manual that the history professors would like to see implemented.

If you have any questions or concerns, please talk to your professor.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip