This is the "Welcome" page of the "Latin American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American Studies  

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.flagler.edu/latin_american_studies Print Guide ShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Call Numbers: History

F1170 -- French America

F1201-F3799 -- Latin America; Spanish America

F1201-F1392 -- Mexico

F1401-F1419 -- Latin America (General)

F1421-F1440 -- Central America

F1601-F1629 -- West Indies

F2001-F2151 -- Lesser Antilles

F2155-F2191 -- Caribbean Area. Caribbean Sea

F2201-F3799 -- South America

 

 

Databases

The first three databases are the primary History databases at the Proctor Library; the remainder are recommended. Find a reference librarian if you need help.

  • JSTOR
    The best scholarly database subscribed to by the Proctor Library providing access to articles in the fields of history, politicial science, archaeology, art history, anthropology, literature and languages, music, and more; however, JSTOR usually is unable to provide access to the most recently published articles.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Contrary to what you may think, this database does not provide access to articles or papers. It does however tell you which universities, archives, museums own what manuscript collections.
  • Biography Reference Bank
    Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
  • Books Review Digest
    Rather than consult the physical Books Review Digest books for post-1983 publications, you can look up the title of a book here and get citations to reviews of the book. For titles published pre-1983 you can find BRD shelved in the reference collection under REF Z1219 .C96.
  • Britannica Online
    Contains the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & the Britannica Book of the Year.
  • Gale Biography in Context
    This should be the first place you look when trying to find a biography on a person (U.S. or international).
  • Humanities Full-Text
    Multi-disicplinary database: art, archaeology, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, and theology.
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Collection
    See the Humanities Full-Text note, but this database is for articles published from 1907 to 1984.
  • Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1881 to 1987
  • The New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
    Full-text, 1851 to 2007
  • OAlster
    Please click on the Worldcat link to access this database. Access to more than 19 million digital records in history from e-books to audio and movie files. Most information is available to Flagler faculty and students, but you may need to create a second username and password to access some information.
  • ProQuest Newsstand
    Contains The New York Times from 1999 to the present and 500 national and international newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present and 13 Florida newspapers.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Articles from social sciences journals and periodicals. Many full text. Full text coverage starts in January 1995.
  • WorldCat
    A wonderful database that includes the collections of most libraries in the world. Most useful as pre-research to doing an Inter-Library Loan request.
 

Reference Books (Selected)

Here is a selection of some books in the reference collection (circulating collection, online reference databases) that provide general information. Most books in the field of Latin American Stuides can be found in the F's, or for language studies, in the P's.

The American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish English, ingles/espanol --   REF PC4640 .A437 2001
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An Encyclopedia --   REF F1218.6 .A73 2001
Diccionario de Autoridades --   REF PC4625 .A3 1990
Diccionario Espasa: Literatura Espanola --   REF PQ6051 .B74 2003
Diccionario panhispanico de dudas --   REF PC4460 .D5155 2005
Dictionary of Indian Tribes of the Americas --   REF E54.5 .D5 1980
Dictionary of Daily Life of Indians of the Americas --   REF E54.5 .D53 1981
Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology --   REF GN562 .S74 1999
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Art --   REF N6502 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures --   REF F1406 .E524 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin Amerian Literature --   REF PQ7081 .A1 E524 1997
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics --   REF F1410 .E56 2002
Historical Atlas of Central America --   REF G1551 .S1 H2 2003
The International Who's Who --   REF CT120 .I5
La Gran Enciclopedia Martiana --   REF F1783 .M38 G725 1978
Latin America: A Guide to the Historical Literature --   REF F1408 .G737 1971
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era --   REF N6502.4 .S556 2003
Latino and Latina Writers --   REF PS153 .H56 L39 2004
Statistical Abstract of Latin America --   REF HA935 .S8

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Katherine Owens
Contact Info
Proctor Library
44 Sevilla Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084

(904) 819-6485 (office)
(904) 819-6331 (reference desk)
kowens@flagler.edu
Send Email

Books and More Books

One-Stop Shop...Almost

  • Discovery
    Allows you to search MOST of the Proctor Library's databases simaltaneouosly!
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip