This is the "Home" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Collections  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.flagler.edu/special_collections Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some of Our Books

Sewall's Sketches of St. Augustine by R.K. Sewall, 1849

The Pictorial Field-Book of the Revolution by Benson J. Lossing, 1860

Novels and Tales by the Earl of Beaconsfield, 1882

Fabulous Florida by Ruby Leach Carson, 1942

Margaret Tudor by Annie T. Colcock, 1901

 

Welcome to the Special Collections Page

This page is a quick introduction to the library's Special Collections first formed in 2012.

The collection is an outgrowth of the Proctor Library's existing collection, merely a separation of books identified as not appropriate for general public access. Some books have been donated to the library and were automatically placed in Special Collections by either request of the donor, or determination by the Special Collections Librarian. Books make up 99.9% of the collection with the other .1% being letters, photographs, other odd pieces of paper removed from books now in the collection, or magazines.

On this page you will find information on how to get access through the catalog, whom to contact about seeing a book in the collection, and the major subject areas in the collection. The subject area list is not a complete list of everything in the collection; only a listing of the largest "collections" within the collection.

 

How to find a book

Special Collections is a small but growing collection, and while there is limited access, it is available to the curious.

1. To find an item in the collection go to the Library Catalog's advanced search (http://voyager.flagler.edu/), and type in the following: "a?" or "e?"

2. Limit your search to the Special Collections location.

 

 

Requesting Access

  • For the safety of the collection, you will need to make an appointment or send Katherine Owens an email (kowens@flagler.edu) with your request. I will pull the book(s) you need to peruse.
  • Special Collections is a non-circulating collection; the items may not leave the building, or, the First Floor, and can only be used under the supervision of a library staff member.
  • If you are a professor needing long-term access to an item, I will be more than happy to work with you to provide the needed access, without compromising the security of the item.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Katherine Owens
Contact Info
Proctor Library
44 Sevilla Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084

(904) 819-6485 (office)
(904) 819-6331 (reference desk)
kowens@flagler.edu
Send Email
 

Area's of Emphasis

  • Saint Augustine, FL
  • Old Florida Guidebooks
  • Deaf Culture
  • Civil Rights
  • Autographed books by authors in the College's "Writer's Forum" series
  • Autographed
  • Pre-1900 Books, rarity or value
  • 19th and early 20th century schoolbooks
  • Sir Walter Scott

For books about Flagler College, Henry Flagler, or the Ponce de Leon Hotel please contact Ms Christine Wysocki in the College Archives, cwysocki@flagler.edu.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip