Subject Guides
Library of Congress Call Numbers: Literature (General)
PN1-6790 -- Literature (General)
PN441-1009.5 -- Literary History
PN1010-1525 -- Poetry
PN1530 -- The Monologue
PN1551 -- The Dialogue
PN1560-1590 -- The Performing Arts. Show Business
PN1600-3307 -- Drama
PN3311-3503 -- Prose. Prose Fiction
PN4001-4355 -- Oratory. Elocution, etc.
PN4390 -- Diaries
PN4400 -- Letters (Literary History)
PN4500 -- Essays (Literary History)
PN4699-5650 -- Journalism. The Periodical Press, etc.
PN6010-6790 -- Collections of General Literature
Databases
The first database is the primary Theatre database at the Proctor Library; the remainder are recommended. Find a reference librarian if you need help.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextOnly database we have devoted to all things Theatre.
- American National Biography OnlineThe online version of the reference books in the series American National Biography, this database is continually updated and contains over 17,400 biographies. The database includes biographies, illustrations, cross-references, and links to external web sites.
- Essay & General Literature IndexOffers access to citations for articles since 1985 in the humanities and social sciences. This database is not full text.
- Gale Biography in ContextThis should be the first place you look when trying to find a biography on a person (U.S. or international).
- Humanities Full-TextMulti-disicplinary database: art, archaeology, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, and theology.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective CollectionSee the Humanities Full-Text note, but this database is for articles published from 1907 to 1984.
- JSTORThe best scholarly database subscribed to by the Proctor Library providing access to articles in the fields of history, politicial science, archaeology, art history, anthropology, literature and languages, music, and more; however, JSTOR usually is unable to provide access to the most recently published articles.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyIncludes 50,000 biographies of people affiliated with Great Britain from pre-history to 2006. This database is licensed for only 1 user at a time.
Reference Books
Here is a selection of some books in the reference collection (circulating collection, online reference databases) that provide general information. Most books in the field of Theatre will be found in the PN's.
Writing
| The Cambridge Guide to Theatre | -- available through Credo Reference |
| Contemporary Dramatists | -- REF PR737 .C57 1999 |
| History of the Theatre | -- REF PN2101 .B68 1995, PN2101 .B68 2003 |
| McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work | -- REF PN1625 .M3 1984, vols. 1-5 |
| The Oxford Companion to American Theatre | -- REF PN2220 .B6 1984, and available through ebrary |
| The Oxford Companion to the Theatre | -- REF PN2035 .O9 1983, PN2035 .H3 1972 |
| Play Index | -- REF Z5781 .P53 |
| Stage Makeup | -- PN2068 .C65 1967, PN2068 .C65 1981 |
Subject Headings
These are examples of subject terms you can use in the library's catalog. Subjects are better for searching than keywords, because they describe what something is about. Remember, most Theatre books will be located in the PN section of the library.
Reference & Instruction Librarian |
Contact Info Proctor Library 44 Sevilla Street St. Augustine, FL 32084 (904) 819-6485 (office) (904) 819-6331 (reference desk) kowens@flagler.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Books and More Books
- Proctor Library CatalogSearch for print and electronic books in the Proctor Library.
One-Stop Shop...Almost
- DiscoveryAllows you to search MOST of the Proctor Library's databases simaltaneouosly!


Loading...
